In the referendum two years ago, 53.4% of the population voted for the United Kingdom to withdraw from the European Union, compared to 46.6% who voted against it. Unless a ratified withdrawal agreement establishes another date or the European Council, in accordance with Article 50(3) of the Treaty on European Union and in agreement with the UK, unanimously decides that the Treaties cease to apply at a later date, all EU primary and secondary law will cease to apply to the UK on March 30, 2019(“the withdrawal date”). The UK will then become a third country.

British Prime Minister Theresa May reached a “collective” agreement with the cabinet on how the United Kingdom could potentially carry out a smooth Brexit.

May had gathered the twenty-six cabinet ministers at her private country residence for over twelve hours to discuss the future relationship of the UK and EU post-Brexit.  A common position was finally reached, now two years after the referendum.

The European Union will likely implement additional tariffs on certain imports from the United States in July in response to tariffs imposed on steel and aluminum from the bloc, Canada, and Mexico. The announcement came on Wednesday.

EU member states widely supported the European Commission's plan to impose tariffs on 2,800 million euros of U.S. exports in response to what it sees as an illegal action by Washington.

“The new duties start applying in July,” European Commission Vice President Maros Sefcovic told reporters. “It is a measured and proportionate response to the unilateral and illegal decision taken by the United States.”

On Wednesday, the EU taxed American products such as tobacco, bourbon, jeans, and motorcycles in response to the tariffs imposed by Washington on steel and aluminum.

Although the list of products that will have tariffs by the EU was announced on May 18, it will become effective as of June 20. There are 327 EU TARIC numbers that will have the additional 25% duty across 17 chapters.

“The EU’s reaction is fully in line with international trade law. We regret that the United States left us with no other option than to safeguard EU interests,” Trade Commissioner Cecilia Malmstrom said in a statement.

You can read more about EU’s retaliatory tariffs on the European Commission and TIME.