ACE Deployment G3 Information Notice

United States Customs and Border Protection (CBP) has announced plans to finalize the rollout of Automated Commercial Environment (ACE) in early 2018, with the next release due Dec. 9, 2017. On that date, CPB will deploy Statements, e214 (electronic Foreign-Trade Zone (FTZ) admissions), and Manufacturer ID (MID) Creation capabilities within ACE.

The final release is scheduled for Feb. 24, 2018, and will include Reconciliation, Liquidation and Drawback.

The National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones (NAFTZ) President Erik O. Autor responded to CBP’s announced postponement from Sept. 16 to Dec. 9. “I am very pleased to report that CBP Acting Commissioner Kevin McAleenan announced…that the planned Sept.16 date for the full transition of the core e214 functionality from ACS into ACE has been postponed until Dec. 9.

Understanding CETA: The EU-Canada Trade Agreement

Tuesday, December 5, 3 p.m. CET

Yves Melin, Partner at Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Mark Camilleri, Lawyer and Owner of Camilleri Law SPRL

The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)--a joint agreement between the European Union (EU) and Canada initiated at the end of September 2017--will make it considerably easier and less costly to import and export between Canada and the EU.

European companies benefit by the elimination of 99 percent of duties paid at Canadian customs. The same will apply to Canadian businesses exporting to the EU. After seven years, all customs duties on industrial products will disappear. European firms will also benefit from cheaper parts, components and other inputs from Canada used to manufacture products.

Join Integration Point for a 60-minute webcast to review CETA and its' main features.

Melin and Camilleri will discuss:

  • Provisional application and the ratification process
  • Trade between Canada and the EU
  • Trade in services, labor mobility, government contracts and procurement
  • Data protection for Canadian companies trading in the EU

A Q&A session will follow the webcast.

Click Here to register.


A new report released by the U.S. Foreign-Trade Zones (FTZs) Board shows a total of 324 active FTZ production operations in 2016.

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross and U.S. Secretary of Treasury Steven Mnuchin issued the report Nov. 16 to the U.S. Congress with statistics on zone activities for 2016. The 165-page report is available for review Here.