Representatives from the landmark Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP, or TPP-11) trade bloc took steps to develop and expand market access at a meeting this Saturday in Tokyo, reaffirming their commitment to free trade and inviting other countries to join.

The CPTPP, which was rejected by President Donald Trump upon taking office in 2017, came into effect last year after it was ratified by Australia. At the moment, 7 of 11 members have already ratified the agreement, and it is expected that the remaining countries will soon follow suit.

After a disastrous vote in the House of Commons on her withdrawal agreement with the European Union, Theresa May presented her alternative Brexit plan to the members of Parliament on January 21.

May said that after hearing the concerns of Parliament, she is seeking to gain concessions from the EU on the controversial Northern Ireland “backstop,” or temporarily fluid border between EU-member Ireland and Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom. The backstop remains the most contentious issue of Brexit negotiations and faces opposition on all sides of Parliament.