Although the United Kingdom has successfully signed continuity agreements with Chile, the Faroe Islands, and Eastern and Southern Africa,  the embattled nation is still struggling to lock down free trade agreements (FTA) ahead of the March 29 Brexit date. Speaking at a parliamentary inquiry to the International Trade Committee on February 6, trade minister Liam Fox was unable to confirm that all 40 FTAs that make up the UK’s existing deals as a member of the European Union would still be in place after the exit date.

If the UK fails to secure a deal with a current trading partner before March 29, then both parties will default to World Trade Organization (WTO) trading rules. This would incur additional tariffs to a wide range of traded goods that were previously duty free when the UK was part of the EU. If a withdrawal agreement is successfully secured between the UK and the EU before the exit date, then all 40 agreements are expected to be extended during the transition period, which is set to end in 2021.

After a disastrous vote in the House of Commons on her withdrawal agreement with the European Union, Theresa May presented her alternative Brexit plan to the members of Parliament on January 21.

May said that after hearing the concerns of Parliament, she is seeking to gain concessions from the EU on the controversial Northern Ireland “backstop,” or temporarily fluid border between EU-member Ireland and Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom. The backstop remains the most contentious issue of Brexit negotiations and faces opposition on all sides of Parliament.

The United Kingdom is scheduled to leave the European Union on March 29, 2019. UK Prime Minister Theresa May has been scrambling to draft and pass a withdrawal agreement that would prevent a costly and diplomatically destructive exit from the EU without a deal. At the conclusion of a five-day debate, the British legislative House of Commons rejected May’s deal and increased the likelihood of a “no-deal” Brexit. Here are the key dates and players that have led up to the January 15 vote by the members of Parliament.