On May 1, the free trade agreement between the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and Georgia will enter into force for Switzerland and Lichtenstein.

Representing 14 million consumers, the EFTA is made up of Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein. The EFTA Council of Foreign Ministers originally made the decision to establish an FTA with Georgia back in 2014. The first two rounds of negotiations took place in 2015. The third and final rounds were concluded in 2016. The FTA was officially signed in June 2016 and entered into force for Georgia, Norway, and Iceland in September 2017.

The FTA is a broad-based agreement covering:

  • Trade of goods and services
  • Sanitary and phytosanitary measures
  • Technical barriers to trade
  • Rules of origin, trade promotion, and cooperation in customs matters
  • Investments
  • Intellectual property rights
  • Public procurement
  • Competition
  • Trade protection measures and sustainable development

Georgian goods will experience no export barriers to EFTA member nations as soon as the agreement enters into force.

Georgia has free trade deals with Turkey, China, the European Union (EU), and with the Commonwealth of Independent States countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan). Georgia has also begun free trade talks with India.

Click here to read more on this FTA.